How are Epiphones?

StickmanJamStickmanJam Posts: 425
edited March 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been playing for a few months now with weekly lessons, and want to update my guitar soon. I'm probably getting a Fender Mexi-Standard Strat, but after that, was looking to get something else a little different.

I absolutely love the Les Paul's and SG's, but right now, cannot afford to shell out $1,200 (I'm in college). And I saw Epiphone sells the SG (which would be my first choice) for like $399, and same with the Les Paul. Anyone ever play these, would it be a mistake getting one?

Thanks all
MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• dunkmandunkman Posts: 19,646
    I've got an Epi SG and i love it... its cherry red, plays beautifuly... really smooth... i've got the same decal as Ed has on his SG's :cool: in fact i think i gave 3 board members on here decals and i never saw what they did with them!! :)

but anyway... yes Epi's are usually pretty sturdy, decent entry level guitars and i think the Epi SG's are brilliant... one day i'll own the Gibson SG
    oh scary... 40000 morbidly obese christians wearing fanny packs invading europe is probably the least scariest thing since I watched an edited version of The Care Bears movie in an extremely brightly lit cinema.
  • try before you buy. I've played some epis that are great, and others that are horrible. I have an epi les paul custom and i really dig it...it plays great and doesn't sound too bad either. don't get me wrong, i'd take my gibson over it any day, but for the price my epi LP is superb!
    "I'll do whatever the song dictates - if it doesn't need a real lead, then I won't do one. But if it does, then I'll fuckin' go off." - Mike