Good Distortion pedal

PJRocker2003PJRocker2003 Posts: 3
edited April 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey all, I'm a relatively new guitarist (about 2 1/2 years) and I wanna know what a good distortion/effects pedal would be that won't run me up the wall with its price. Also I wanna buy a larger amp (I currently have a puny Marshall 10W amp) with more effects and stuff on it, like delay and whatnot. Anyone have any good ideas for an amp/pedal package that sounds good together that's not too expensive?
"Propaganda is to a democracy what a bludgeon is to a totalitarian state."
-Noam Chomsky
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Lots of ideas, but nothing is cheap. Buy a Ibanez TubeScreamer for distortion and some sort of tube amp. Check eBay for used pedals. I'm sure you can save a bunch. New Tubescreamers are about 140.00 new. Good Luck!!
    ***** NO CODE - The Pearl Jam Tribute *****

Visit our website: www.nocodejam.com
  • brain of cbrain of c Posts: 5,213
    tube screamers work well.
  • Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    The first options I'd look at are the Boss DS-1 (around 39 bucks) The Ibanez Tone Lok (TS-7) tubescreamer is an effective cheaper option to the $99 (TS-9) Tubescreamer the $80 Marshall Guv nor is cool too.

The Danelectro Fab tone is an excellent pedal as well for around 50 bucks, check ebay but there are a million options, try out all you can in different amplifiers and then make a decision. Keep in mind the more you use the volume vs the gain of the pedal the better it will sound because most distortion pedals fizz out at the highest gain settings. Test them at the volume you intend to use them.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • This is a very subjective question, but I'll give my two cents.