mbox vs garage band

Lukin_ozLukin_oz Posts: 257
edited March 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
at the moment im using garage band to record demos and other bts and pieces but have been considering the upgrade to protools with an mbox. Aside from the mbox and protools will i need to make any other alterations to my setup? does anyone have in pro - anti mbox opinions?
Those who dance are called insane by those who dont hear the music
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    I have pro- ProTools opinions, but I have no experience with the MBox. Although a couple of our peers have them.

But to answer the other question... the MBox/ProTools will be pretty close to your current Soundcard/GarageBand setup, just better fidelity.
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • I got an mBox a couple of months ago and it was a great investment. It is easy to use and allows for efficient, professional quality recording of demos.

I have never used garge band; only fooled around on it over at my sister's house. It seems pretty cool, but I think the mbox allows more tweaking.
    And if hope could grow from dirt like me, it can be done
  • KillerIsMeKillerIsMe Posts: 208
    ive been using it for about 2 years, and if it is just you recording, it's perfect.

the only complaints i have for it is usb 1.1 speeds (which doesnt even matter too much since its not topping out the 1.1 speeds)
    and only two inputs, which makes it a real pain to do things like record live drums.
    oh and no built in midi interface

pros:
    pro tools software for cheap
    good preamps
    small/portable
    and everything else there is to say about it.
    also its a sturdy little box.
    comes with a fair amount of decent plug-ins(though i never have been really found of d-verb)