Need help in buying an acoustic

wak5700wak5700 Posts: 22
edited August 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
I want to buy an acoustic that's good but thats still under 500 dollers. My guitar teacher tells me that seagulls are excellent, but that's what his store sells and my friend tells me that he personally likes alvarez. I've been playing my friends alvarez for about 2 months now(I plan on giving it back to him at some point). I don't really have any reference and I havent been playing long enough (7 months) to really know the difference between guitars and all that shit. Help would be appreciated
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• go to a guitar store and play em all. Whatever one feels the best and calls your name (you will know :)), get it.
    "I'll do whatever the song dictates - if it doesn't need a real lead, then I won't do one. But if it does, then I'll fuckin' go off." - Mike

"Japan is awesome; the fans there knew all the words to all the songs...at least phonetically." - Stone

"I know this song so well, I can smoke a cigarette, have a drink, brush my teeth, take a shit, and mow the lawn while singing it. But I'll only be doing a couple of those things during this version." - EV
  • mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    Seagulls are pretty good guitars. Others in that price range worth looking at: Alvarez, Yamaha, Takamine, Tacoma, some newer Fenders, Epiphone.

Acoustic guitars vary greatly from instrument to instrument... two identical models from the same manufacturer can be night and day difference. It all depends on the quality of the wood used... unless you spend $1,000 or more, you kinda take a risk on how good the quality control is.