Help - What should I look for in an amplifier?

surferdudesurferdude Posts: 2,057
edited March 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am pretty new to the electric guitar side of things. I am looking to buy a new amp in the $300 - $500 range. I just want a nice, reliable amp. I have no idea what I should be looking for or questions to ask. My music tastes run mostly classic rock and hard rock.

I have a squire strat and an epiphone les paul.

Can anyone point me in directions of amps to look at or what I should be looking for?

Thanks.
“One good thing about music,
when it hits you, you feel to pain.
So brutalize me with music.”
~ Bob Marley
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• JofZJofZ Posts: 1,276
    surferdude wrote:
    I am pretty new to the electric guitar side of things. I am looking to buy a new amp in the $300 - $500 range. I just want a nice, reliable amp. I have no idea what I should be looking for or questions to ask. My music tastes run mostly classic rock and hard rock.

I have a squire strat and an epiphone les paul.

Can anyone point me in directions of amps to look at or what I should be looking for?

Thanks.

Is this for your home, bedroom, gigs?
    WHAT IS THAT NOISE?
    Hanging at www.TheGuitarHub.com
    The only Forum for players by players.......

Playing Les Pauls, Teles, Hubers, Gustavssons, Kolls through a Mad Professor amp with a Bob Burt Cab.
    BJF powers my Pedal Board
  • nailz100nailz100 Posts: 1,176
    MIG and Paco are the two guys to ask. They sure helped narrow it down for me.
    Only with our eyes closed can we truly see
  • surferdudesurferdude Posts: 2,057
    JofZ wrote:
    Is this for your home, bedroom, gigs?
    For home use only, maybe playing with friends from time to time.
    “One good thing about music,
    when it hits you, you feel to pain.
    So brutalize me with music.”
    ~ Bob Marley
    Maybe an old fender off e-bay?
  • exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    surferdude wrote: