What can I expect in a recording studio?

surferdudesurferdude Posts: 2,057
edited May 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Background: I'm a pretty sloppy/poor guitarist but I think I can write some decent songs even if I can't play some of them all that well. Through friends I can call in some favors and get some free studio time and musicians for a weekend. All it will cost me is booze, food and coke (I think).

Questions;
1. Some of the musicians have sold millions of albums. Will they laugh me out of the studio when I try to show them songs I can barely play?
2. How much can I expect to get done in a weekend if these guys have never heard the songs before? And by songs I just mean guitar and vocals. We'd have to be working out drums and bass and leads on the fly.
3. Is it worth the risk of calling in a lot of favours and then owing some? When all I'd end up getting for the trouble is probably a pretty cool souvenir. As much as my ego would like to think other wise there's no market in rock for non-performing songwriters.
“One good thing about music,
when it hits you, you feel to pain.
So brutalize me with music.”
~ Bob Marley
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Oh, JimmyOh, Jimmy Posts: 957
    How in the world are you gettin to record with people that have sold millions of records? Its kinda questionable territory. You dont wanna waste their time, if you arent that good, but if you have really good song, and dont plan on performing, maybe you could sell your songs.

If you dont know the musicians you are gonna play with, I would copyright your stuff. You cant trust anybody with that stuff, esp. if it has any hooks at all. Make a cheap, but audible recording, mail that to yourself, and leave it unopened.
  • surferdudesurferdude Posts: 2,057
    Oh, Jimmy wrote: