i just formed a band

|-Release-||-Release-| Posts: 90
edited March 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
well, i placed an add on some message boards a while ago and to cut a long story short, ive found a bassist, drummer and another guitarist. we're gonna have out first rehearsal/meeting this saturday and im really looking forward to it (its my first proper band) and i was wondering are there any tips you can give me for playing with 'strangers' for the first time. i have little experience in meeting new musicians and jamming with them and when i do, i seem to freeze up. anyone got any tips on breaking the ice and just rockin'? cheers
seems that needlessly its getting harder
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    just focus on good riffs and becoming tight rhythmically from the start. and leave all ego at home. not saying you'd be a dick or something but hopefully the other's won't be either.

just try to find a place to fit and hopefully everyone will take turns leading and following with no one person trying to dominate.
  • ExodusExodus Posts: 212
    just give it all you got... i did that a while ago and you just fucking put it all out there and try to have a good time.
    Between the conception and the creation

Between the emotion and the response

Falls the shadow.
  • puremagicpuremagic Posts: 1,907
    Originally posted by exhausted
    just focus on good riffs and becoming tight rhythmically from the start. and leave all ego at home. not saying you'd be a dick or something but hopefully the other's won't be either.

just try to find a place to fit and hopefully everyone will take turns leading and following with no one person trying to dominate.

To add on what exhausted has said --