Options

recommend me a good PA system

neenerbeanneenerbean Posts: 205
edited December 2003 in Musicians and Gearheads
for a 6-piece band (3 guitars) and two vocals.

I am new at this, so bear with me...it's for our practice space.

Money isn't a HUGE object, but I'd like to get the best deal.

This may get used for two, even three bands down the road (all my projects).

Also, any advice for a smaller PA setup for my house? Just so if we wanted to jam at my house I've got a few speakers and whatnot?

Thanks!
AMES
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    You're probably going to want around a 16 or 24 channel mixer so you'll have plenty of room for mic'ing the drums. Allen and Heath seems to be the one for most folks on the board depending on your budget. I'd go with a seperate mixer and amp (amps) for the band. I like lots of speaker brands, Yamaha makes good ones for the money. I'd say you need 2 15"s with horns and 2 subs. JBL M series sound good. EV's are nice as well, The best are EAW's in my own (and Pearl Jam's) opinion. Slap a Compressor and a Sonic Maximiser on there too and you've got a great PA for a large band. Get good vocal mics (supercardioid) your favorite brand here for your vocals and Shure SM 57's or some similar brand for micing the guitar amps.

http://www.carvin.com has some excellent PA packages for your home and band use as well. You can see how they put packages toegther then try http://www.musiciansfriend.com http://www.samash.com and several other websites you can find for the best deal.

A good music gear related site with reviews is http://www.harmony-central.com

good luck neener.

McCready is God would be the one to PM about this stuff as he is an engineer.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • Options
    Originally posted by Pacomc79