stack amp cable question (for guitarists)

kigcatkigcat Posts: 298
edited October 2003 in Musicians and Gearheads
ok here goes ive been playing electric guitar for the last 15/16 years. For 90% of that time ive been playing through a vintage fender combo transistor amp but i have just purchased and am presently waiting awaiting the arrival of a marshall MG100dfxh valvestate 100watt head and a mg4x12 angled cabinet the question i have for you guys out there is this..... Looking at online pdf manual for this amp it says that the head has to be connected to the cab using a "UN SHIELDED" jack plug..... Ive never known of anyone using a groundless cable on a cab will it be ok using a standard jack to jack cable i.e. normal guitar/patch cable or do i really need a special cable that has no ground. in other words is this just marshall trying to get me to spend more money on there products.
I'm not saying stupidity should be a capital offence, but what say we take the safety labels off everything and let nature run it's course?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    no.

use a speaker cable. you're dealing with a much higher voltage and current level. a guitar cable won't cut it.

the connection between a head and a speaker is the same as between a PA amp and it's speakers.

you want a speaker cable.

a 2-3 foot speaker cable isn't going to cost that much.
  • Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    speaker cable for the love of pete. Please don't hook it up with a guitar cable your head will blow up.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Bumfuq, MT Posts: 6,395
    My drummer once pulled a nice little trick on me...