Elderly Woman--Why can't I play it?

jambayleafjambayleaf Posts: 646
edited January 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
Granted I'm still a beginner (almost a year), but I can play other songs pretty well, simple ones like Betterman, Long Road, Dead Man, and all the power chord songs, but people always say Elderly Woman is a great beginner song. I cannot for the life of me get the strumming down or something. Anyone else have this problem? Or should I just give up? It sounds like if you can't play elderly Woman, you might as well lay the axe down.
So now I'm drivin the bus- Kramer
You're batman!- George
Yeah...yeah...I AM batman!!- Kramer
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I just listened to it.

It's not in 4/4 time like most songs. It's in 3/4 time. Like a waltz.

Try counting 1,2,3,1,2,3,1,2,3,1,2,3
    instead of 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4
    Smile :)
  • I can't play it either same problem!!!. The strumming just never seems right!!

I gave up on it but I can also play other songs decently.

I have been playing for 8 months or so so I'm in about the same situation. And do you only play 1 stroke of d at the start then go to the G variant. The whole thing just doesn't work out for me
    I miss you already, I miss you always
    I miss you already, I miss you all day
  • ONE two three ONE two three ONE two three ONE two three

You'll get it, and it'll be a revelation.

:)
    Smile :)
  • Maybe that will help. I'll dick with it tonight and see if I can get it. If you know what a G variant is, you're doing better than me. It's just funny that even giventowail.com says it's an easy one for beginners, and I know I'm still a beginner, but it fucks me up every time I attempt it.
    You're batman!- George
  • if it makes you feel any better I can't play betterman.

Do you play RITFW?

it rules and I love playing it. No to hard either
    I miss you already, I miss you always
    I miss you already, I miss you all day