Options

Student Loan Debt Relief

2»

Comments

• Options
    Zod said:
    I feel pretty lucky here in Canada that our universities are partially subsidized.  Between student loans, summer employment, and the odd part time job during the school year, I graduated with $27k in student loans.   I could of been more prudent (ie less concerts).  My biggest struggle was finding gainful employment after university.  Took me about 1.5 years until I moved to get a job, then I knocked that fucker out in 3 years.

I can't imagine what it's like now, especially in the US with the huge costs.  I think the biggest challenge here is living.  If your parents don't live where you want to go to university it gets really expensive really quick.
    I heard a great special on NPR one day about US colleges and why they are so expensive.  They do get subsidized and that is why the price is driven up.

Here is an article about some of that.
    https://www.npr.org/2018/12/13/672952507/does-more-federal-aid-raise-tuition-costs-not-for-most-students-research-says
  • Options
    PoncierPoncier Posts: 16,225
    In Sweden the advice has always been to pay the least amount possible on the student loans because the interest is so low, and instead put the money into the stick market where you get more for your money. 

Sweden is a very strange place.
    This weekend we rock Portland
  • Options
    Poncier said:
    In Sweden the advice has always been to pay the least amount possible on the student loans because the interest is so low, and instead put the money into the stick market where you get more for your money. 

That's worth half a semester right there.
  • Options
    static111static111 Posts: 4,889
    Poncier said:

Lol
    Scio me nihil scire

There are no kings inside the gates of eden
  • Options
    mickeyratmickeyrat up my ass, like Chadwick was up his Posts: 35,788
    _____________________________________SIGNATURE________________________________________________