anyone ever just stopped playing for a while... or longer

exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
edited September 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
since we're trying to sell our house, all my stuff is packed up and i haven't played in quite a while. thinking of not even touching anything again until next year.

and i don't really miss it. i'm kinda worried. i love music so much but hate it when i try to create anything.

i've been playing for 11 years and a really don't feel like it anymore.

anyone taken a great for a length of time and come back to it, refreshed...

i look at this pile of gear i have and i just feel stupid about it at this point.

almost sold one of my SGs yesterday except i was offered an insultingly low amount for it. but i don't really care about the guitar itself anymore.

blah.

i think it probably has to do with the fact that i've lost my drive and confidence in writing anything and having kept developing my playing skills as real life kind of sucked me in.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    you're just in a rut, it happens, take a break, don't sell your gear. Sit back enjoy music again and just listen. Your playing is not bad, you're just bored with it. I struggle with it too with so much else going on. I'm going to actually get some lessons sometime soon because of the same need for improvement. What I really need, is a freaking band, to play with, force me to practice, and finish, and to just enjoy it again like I do when I jam Hendrix licks.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • dunkmandunkman Posts: 19,646
    i'll give you $7.34 and a bag of grapes for all your gear... ;)

Paco is spot on... you'll just be in a rut!