Options

Greatest Hits?

the wufsthe wufs Posts: 2
I'm new to the PJ forums so I'm guessing this subject may have been addressed before, but wouldn't it be great if Pearl Jam put out a double-CD best of? I've got "Lost Dogs" and some of it's quite good, and I've got all the albums, but I still think that a compilation of career highlights (which might also include "I Got Id" and "Crazy Mary", never on full-length in their studio versions) would be wonderful. Like I said, I think a two-CD running time would be absolutely necessary since the group has had seven studio albums and so many non-album hits as well, and, as I realize that the band might be suspicious about the ultimate aesthetic value of such a document, especially given their understandable reluctance to kowtow to corporate interests (I'm sure Epic would love the idea even though Pearl Jam doesn't owe them any more music), I'm wondering if a favorable consensus from the group's fans might persuade them of its worth. What do people think? I think a band with such a rich oevure deserves a good retrospective, and I also think that Pearl Jam owes it to their fans and to themselves. Hits aren't everything, but Pearl Jam's had an awful lot of great ones and not to recognize that would be a shame.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    Good point, but I think a collection like that should come out AFTER the band has called it quits.

My tracklist for such a collection

1. Alive
    2. Even Flow
    3. Save You
    4. Dissident
    5. Hail Hail
    6. RVM
    7. Nothingman
    8. Jeremy
    9. Who You Are
    10. Sad
    11. Do the Evolution
    12. Spin the Black Circle
    13. Porch
    14. Release
    15. Small Town

1. Yellow Ledbetter
    2. Daughter
    3. Love Boat Captain
    4. State of Love and Trust
    5. I Am Mine
    6. Last Kiss
    7. Lukin
    8. Not For You
    9. Corduroy
    10. Betterman
    11. Black
    12. Light Years
    13. Nothing as it Seems
    14. Man of the Hour