Any nurses here?

I am thinking of trying nursing as a career.
I am freaked out by needles and dead bodies however, I'd need to overcome these fears.
Plus I am not working nightshifts would be good for my mental health.
Anyone here a nurse? How do you find it?
Adelaide 17/11/2009, Melbourne 20/11/2009, Sydney 22/11/2009, Melbourne (Big Day Out Festival) 24/01/2014

Comments

• RKCNDYRKCNDY Posts: 31,013
    ErnieVedder is a nurse

The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.

- Christopher McCandless
  • FoxyRedLaFoxyRedLa Posts: 4,810
    I used to be in healthcare. I worked as a CNA - was in my clinicals when I dropped and persued my current career.

My experience would be your happiness might depend on where you work....home care, nursing home, or hospital. You have the same shitty coworkers no matter. If you can/want traveling nurse is awesome and pays the best.

You will deal with all kinds of walks of life.
    Oh please let it rain today.
    Those that can be trusted can change their mind.
  • I am, and have been forever. :wink: I have worked OB, oncology, home care and urgent care. I am currently working as a tutor for nursing students at a community college. I would consider working as a CNA. Let's you get a good look at some of the work nurses do, and definitely puts you ahead of nursing students who don't have those experiences. Feel free to send me a pm if you like. And best of luck!
    And the sun it may be shining . . . but there's an ocean in my eyes
  • Thanks for the replies.
    I had to Google CNA as we use different terms here in Australia.
    I think CNA would be equivalent to an Enrolled Nurse (EN) and requires a diploma.
    A RN (Registered Nurse) requires a degree.
    Adelaide 17/11/2009, Melbourne 20/11/2009, Sydney 22/11/2009, Melbourne (Big Day Out Festival) 24/01/2014