Options

Must Have Pedals

Im fairly new to playing guitar, only a couple years now, and was wondering what pedals people consider a "must have" in their set up.

Comments

• Options
    mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Bumfuq, MT Posts: 6,395
    Tuner is the first must-have. The Boss TU-2 and TU-3 can provide power to additional pedals with an AC adapter and a daisy-chain cable. The older Korg Pitchblack (not the poly, the chromatic) will do the same.

For me (and probably most players), the second pedal would probably be an overdrive or distortion pedal. If your amp has a good distortion channel already, then this is probably less necessary. Some of this depends on what kind of amp you have, especially tube vs. solid-state, modeling, or hybrid.

I think the best third pedal to integrate is delay, but this is where we get into some pretty heated debate. A lot of folks like modulation, so a phaser, flanger, chorus, tremolo, envelope filter, or wah could be a great third pedal. And if you like it, there's also reverb (again, depends on whether your amp has reverb or not). But I can tell you that I had more fun, and expanded my playing more, with my delay pedal compared to any other single pedal.
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • Options
    +1 to the tuner. Blew my mind after I got one and realized just how nice it is to tune on the fly OR have a bypass where I can switch off the signal when I change guitars.

MIG is right on ALL fronts, by the way. My "must have" pedals for a quick setup are: Delay (I love the Digitech X-Series Digidelay), TS-5 Tube Screamer, Wah, BB Soul Vibe, and BOSS TU2 Tuner.

The rest of my pedals (I have a plethora of them) are just for fun. It's all about what you want to sound like. I'm not one of those guys that thinks I need a sound that is unique to everything else. Honestly, I want to sound like the guys I like listening to. It's impossible to get the exact sound--that's where your own flavor develops.