Okay...I'll be THAT guy...

I'm gonna catch flack, I already know it. This isn't directed at any specific person, either.

I respect and appreciate new music. I understand that people really want to get their names out there. I've done it, I won't lie. But it gets annoying to have the constant "Check out my new band/song" posts all the time. Now hear me out. When it's someone that posts regularly and actively contributes to the forum (not just the M&G section), I'm totally cool with it. But when it is someone that never comes around or contributes unless it is to promote their stuff, I usually just pass by. Call me a d*ck, I don't care. I've made some good friends on here and gotten a lot of advice, not just on gear but on life in general. I've been posting here since 2006 and have seen people come and go. I even posted links and somewhat tried to promote stuff I've done. But in doing so, I also actively asked questions, commented, and added to the forum. Over the past few years, the forum has really dropped off. Maybe it's a sign of the times changing, I don't know. I remember when there were tons of new threads with gear reviews or questions. But, lately, it's become a dumping place for self promotion. I guess I'm just venting here and I'm sure I'll get flamed. But it's something I had to get off my chest.
Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
"Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy

Comments

• I'm with you on that one bud. I've made some small posts about my projects over the years, but that's about it for me.
    E. Lansing-98 Columbus-00,03,10 Detroit-00,03 (1&2),06, 14 Cleveland-03,06,10 Toledo-04, Grand Rapids-04,06 London-05, Toronto-05, Indianapolis 10, East Troy (1&2) 11, Chicago 13, Detroit 14

https://www.facebook.com/aghostwritersapology/
  • I'm with you on that one bud. I've made some small posts about my projects over the years, but that's about it for me.