*Fender Telecaster/Stratocaster update*

oysterjaroysterjar Posts: 1,235
edited April 2014 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am a novice guitar player. I have been playing for about a year now and realized that I will be sticking with this for the rest of my life to some degree. Since I surpassed the one year hump I decided to start saving towards a better guitar to serve as motivation to keep playing. I currently have two fender squiers (tele, strat) that I got for just over $100 a piece. I never really like the feel of the strat and love my telecaster. I have tried some gibsons/epiphone sg/les pauls as well and realized I just want another telecaster. I played a Squier 50's vibe that I liked, and almost purchased, but it wouldn't be that much of an upgrade so I refrained. I think that I want a Fender American Special telecaster and is more in the price range that I can handle with some saving.

Is there a lot of difference between this and the American standard?

How about road worn telecasters?

Any thoughts from some real guitar players out there?

I also just tried a Fender Standard Stratocaster HSS Plus Top and loved the look and feel. Right now in my amateur skills I have a strong affliction for fenders modern C 9.5" neck. Anyone tried one out?

Wind this thing up.

Post edited by oysterjar on

Comments

• edited April 2014
    You can't go wrong with any of those choices IMO. I LOVE teles (have an american standard and an american tele plus) I played a tele special (in olympic white) recently and loved it. If I could swing it right now financially I would have grabbed it in a heartbeat. Going from the Squier line to either a road worn or a special I am sure you will be happy either way.

For more of the technical side I am sure MIG or another regular will be more helpful.

For what its worth, I know a lot of people happy with Mexican made teles as well (always try a few out, if it plays well, its a good guitar bottom line!)

Good Luck!!!