Software developers, programmers, coders

I am a year away from finishing my undergrad in business studies, CIT software development. I was hoping someone here worked in one of these fields and had some advice. I see a lot of high paying jobs posted online but don't know anyone who does these things. Any suggestions for a 31 year old up and comer in these fields?

Wind this thing up.

Comments

• Empty GlassEmpty Glass Posts: 12,329
    I'm a COBOL programmer...maybe you've heard of it. At 31, I guess it's possible you may not have. I don't think COBOL is taught anymore.

As far as suggestions, I'll give it some thought. I've been at my current place for 15 years. I've been out of the game for awhile.

Are these positions that you are looking at near where you live? Do you plan on moving or do you want to stay put? Some of the high paying positions may be high paying because of where they are.
    I've met Rob

DEGENERATE FUK

This place is dead

"THERE ARE NO CLIQUES, ONLY THOSE WHO DON'T JOIN THE FUN" - Empty circa 2015

"Kfsbho&$thncds" - F Me In the Brain - circa 2015
    edited March 2014
    double post
    Post edited by Empty Glass on
    I've met Rob

DEGENERATE FUK

This place is dead

• oysterjaroysterjar Posts: 1,235
    edited March 2014
    I live in NH, just more than an hour away from Boston. Those high pay jobs are mostly in Massachusetts but there are still quite a few high paying jobs in NH as well. Either way its commute for more money and more opportunities or stay local with less opportunities and less pay. I hadn't heard of COBOL before, where is this applied? I hope to spend the next 10 years either progressing in one company or a few but I think I am already a little behind.
    Post edited by oysterjar on

Wind this thing up.