Vent/Question

Don't know if this belongs here or somewhere else. It's part vent/part question. Here we go...

I've been playing with my praise band for a few years, now. It's been a "love/hate" relationship. I'm the youngest player and I play more rock where the rest of the band are much older and are into jazz/contemporary Christian rock. It's not uncommon for me to warm up with Pearl Jam, Ozzy, TOOL, Black Sabbath or some random classic rock. Some know the songs and they kinda join in. We have a drummer, a few vocalists, a pianist, a pianist/saxophonist, and acoustic guitarist, and our pastor plays electric guitar (a beautiful original Kalamazoo Gibson ES330/ES335 into a Fender Blues Jr---I also introduced him to the world of pedals). I quit the band a year ago when I kept being told to "quiet down" (I wasn't turned up loud and was even told people couldn't hear me). I returned when a number of people continuously asked me to return. I was told I added "fun" to the band and was a great asset. When I returned, I noticed I wasn't being mic'd and I brought it to the band's attention. After a few weeks of talking to them about it, they finally mic'd me up--people could actually hear me. The response was positive and overwhelming. The band has been understanding when I need to leave in the middle of songs (the life of a volunteer firefighter) and supports me. However, there is one specific person that drives me up a wall. He's been a mentor to me and he's a great guy--outside of the band. He's an accomplished musician who has toured and made a big name for himself on the jazz circuit. He was the leader of a few jazz bands and is an amazing musician. Because of this, it's no secret that his talents shine---sometimes outshine us. When I'm given a solo, he seems to HAVE to play his instrument (be it sax or piano) at the same time. I've been told not to play fills when the vocalists are singing (understandable) yet he has no problem playing when they are. He's spoken down