Action on a Bass

I recently bought a beginner bass off Amazon and the G string tuning key stripped.

I got a replacement, but this time, the action is so low, the strings are making contact with the 1st fret. This creates much buzzing.

Is there an easy fix, or at least one that wont require $?

Comments

• no not an easy fix if you are just starting out. if it is a brand new bass and it has never been set up properly, you need to take it to someone and have it set up. i have been playing guitar for 21 years and every time i have an issue like this i take it to my tech. i know just enough about truss rods and neck adjustments to be dangerous. leave this stuff to the pros or you might mess up the instrument.

just my thoughts and experience on the matter. sorry to be of no help....

"You can tell the greatness of a man by what makes him angry."  - Lincoln

"Well, you tell him that I don't talk to suckas."
  • MayDay10MayDay10 Posts: 11,685
    thats what I figured, really. I did tune it to see if it bows the neck to provide some clearance.

Part of me just wants to return it (again) and just go to Guitar Center and pick one out (would they set it up?)

I also have a friend who is a "master" bass player. I may take it to him. He is a bit strange though and didnt answer my text.
  • i have only bought two guitars online. the one from ebay ended up needing to be sent back. i special ordered a black beauty LP Custom from gibson and that one had a twisted neck that was unable to be repaired so that one had to be sent back too. i always play guitars before i buy them. that is my general rule of thumb. i have much better luck with ordering amps online. they are more durable and it takes a lot to damage them in shipping.