Slide guitar? Red Mosquito?

BHealyBHealy Posts: 466
edited December 2013 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey, has anyone tried incorporating a slide into their playing? I just bought a glass slide today to screw around with. I was inspired by Mike's lead on "Red Mosquito" and I'm going to try to learn those parts when I get a little more comfortable with it. Has anyone found good tab for the lead parts on Red Mosquito, or a video?
Thanks!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Jason78Jason78 Posts: 400
    All hail Robbie Kreiger! ………….sorry :D
  • BHealyBHealy Posts: 466
    Is he known for slide? I need to got back an listen to some Doors stuff, its been awhile.
  • DewieCoxDewieCox Posts: 11,425
    I dabble with slide, but I'm far from a pro with it. First trick to making it sound good is figuring out the string muting. You'll usually want to rest the finger behind the slide on the strings. Much easier and more useful if you start dabbling in open tunings.

All of McCready's slide playing is super basic. The hardest part about Red Mosquito is not clanging the slide off the string when you're doing the fretted parts.

The tab over at giventowail is pretty spot on or you can find it at ultimate-guitar as well.
    Thanks! Yeah, I'm screwing around in Open E right now to get the hang of it. Do you think Mike's in standard tuning for Red Mosquito?

Can you think of other PJ songs incorporating slide?

Thanks again,
  • DewieCoxDewieCox Posts: 11,425
    BHealy wrote:
    Thanks! Yeah, I'm screwing around in Open E right now to get the hang of it. Do you think Mike's in standard tuning for Red Mosquito?

Can you think of other PJ songs incorporating slide?

Thanks again,

I'm pretty sure he's in standard and that's how the tab is transcribed.

I'm pretty sure there are only a few tunes where Mike is not in standard, like GTF and Present Tense. Stone has always been more experimental in the tuning department and Ed has some guitar songs where he uses uke tuning.