renting a room/flat in seattle - help needed

KathiKathi Posts: 1,828
edited October 2013 in All Encompassing Trip
Hey everyone, I'm requesting some advice from the seattle locals here :) I'm doing my PhD right now, and will be going on a research visit to the University of Washington next year (most likely for 2 months, April & May). The main goal of the trip is to meet with faculty & other grad students there to discuss my findings, and offer myself a quiet environment that I can finish to write my dissertation in.
So, I'm looking for either a room in a shared flat, or a little studio of my own (latter option is preferable to me, but it's a price question of course). Should be furnished & available for short term rental, and in a safe neighborhood, either close to UW or with good public transport there.

Anyone know where I might find something like that? I've been googling a bit, but not much luck so far. Any other suggestions (which neighborhood to stay in, etc.) are of course also much appreciated. thanks :) Oh and I'll be coming over for the PJ show, so if there's anything I need to check out myself I could possibly do it then.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• prismprism Posts: 2,440
    the University district (aka U district) is pretty nice. when my daughter went to UW, tho she lived in a dorm, can't say it was quiet...but the area is safe.

renting an apt or room monthly or 'month to month' as it's commonly called is going to be more expensive than signing a long-term lease cost per month, but seems like your only option. wish I could be more help, but Im not familiar with the studios or rooms for rent nearby to recommend which are better.

you might want to check out some of the places here...

http://www.yelp.com/search?find_desc=Mo ... y_District

Good luck!
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    angels share laughter
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
  • KathiKathi Posts: 1,828