Anyone else put a P90 into a CV tele to make an EV guitar?

sunvalleylawsunvalleylaw Posts: 110
edited September 2013 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am a newbie here and this is my first post. I am a PJ fan from way back, as a Tacoma native through the 90s when I moved to Idaho. I am a home musician who has played out a little. I would love to find some mates to make some punky, indy, grungey rock noise with, but as a Dad with responsibilities, that is not always easy. Still, it is fun to continue to try. That is where this project fits in.

After getting to go see PJ last September in Montana, I became inspired to modify my Classic Vibe Custom tele with a P90 in the neck, and also replace the Alnico 5 pickup in the bridge with something that would complement the P90. A little while ago, I finally tackled the project. Anyone else try this?

Here is a thread compiled of notes and pictures I gathered as I modded my CVC tele.

This is a project that came out of my neck pickup not working and my interest into a P90 in the neck, which led to interest in a "quick connect" type of wiring kit/control unit. I am part way through the project now, and have kept some notes that I am now posting.

History: Basically, my neck pickup wasn't working consistently, probably due to a bad solder joint. So I used it as an excuse to put a P90 in the neck, and replace the bridge pup with one wound to match the P90, both from Bryan Gunsher of BG Pups. I also used a 4 way switch solderless wiring kit from Santellan Sounds.

Stock guitar with new parts laid out.
0997416a-2225-40b8-bc83-4c3c66150abd_zps0836d911.jpg

New pickups:
ba85126f-8acb-400a-a47f-c3e23f10342d_zps16823b3f.jpg

Close up of solderless wiring kit with switches to set for pot values, and wiring connectors:

8af2fb71-cdd2-4fd0-950f-ba0d2f0d22bf_zpsc449d39d.jpg

It came out great! EV inspired, but not a duplicate. Just what I wanted.

I like the new amp style knobs and shorter switch tip too.