Your tips on how to stay cool in this freaking heat!

Leezestarr313Leezestarr313 Posts: 14,352
edited July 2013 in All Encompassing Trip
I'm new to summers like this, and I have to admit that my poor European body is overwhelmed with the heat in this country. I'm already slowly dying here in MI and barely leave the house during the day (thank god for AC!), but then I looked up forecasts for Chicago... Well, the 90+ temperatures are intimitading me a bit.

So, experts, would you share your best tips on how to cope with the extreme heat?

1407-bigthumbnail.jpg?itok=vVGFdwKG
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• SPEEDY MCCREADYSPEEDY MCCREADY Posts: 25,424
    Eat plenty of Hot Peppers.
    And drink plenty of coffee.
    Take me piece by piece.....
    Till there aint nothing left worth taking away from me.....
  • HorosHoros Posts: 4,518
    c246ba91_pic640.cold-beer.jpeg
    #FHP
  • Leezestarr313Leezestarr313 Posts: 14,352
    Keep 'em coming :thumbup: :lol:
  • SnakeduckSnakeduck Posts: 1,056
    I don't know, just kind of push through it while alternating between dehydration and being sunburnt... That and find a nice mountain river or lake to swim in.
  • RKCNDYRKCNDY Posts: 31,013
    is it cool during the nights?

We open the windows and put a fan in the window to bring in the cool air, then in the morning, we close the windows to hold in the cool air and shut out the warm air.

In general, I will take an old t-shirt, run it under hot water, and wring out the water, then put it on, the shirt will be warm at first, but then cool down and keep you cool for a bit.

This was the best purchase I have made: http://www.mistymate.com/ Unfortunately, most outdoor concert venues won't let me in with it. :evil:

I'm glad we don't have a lot of humidity.
    The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.