Options

Banned Books

fifefife Posts: 3,327
edited October 2012 in A Moving Train
So I got this email from a co-worker concerning the banning of booked.

Just found it interesting.

http://www.ala.org/advocacy/banned/freq ... edclassics
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    redrockredrock Posts: 18,341
    I am shocked at the list and of the reasons why!
  • Options
    JonnyPistachioJonnyPistachio Florida Posts: 10,217
    very interesting, I intend on looking at all the links later...I find it fascinating how we have altered what we deem accceptable. I just saw an interview with Frank Durbonte (sp?) the director of the Walking Dead TV series, and he spoke about how amazed he was that he could get away with gratuitous gore. We've become more lenient on some things and more closed up about others.

If I was a successful author, I would think it an honor to make these lists. ;)
    Pick up my debut novel here on amazon: Jonny Bails Floatin (in paperback) (also available on Kindle for $2.99)
  • Options
    Jason PJason P Posts: 19,123
    I think a majority of these challenges are probably from students trying to get out of a book report. :)
  • Options
    JOEJOEJOEJOEJOEJOE Posts: 10,445
    I wonder if there has ever been a banned band book?
  • Options
    brianluxbrianlux Moving through All Kinds of Terrain. Posts: 40,769
    Wasn't sure where to put this but I found this "banned book" thread (which I am surprised is so short!)

This to me is a serious subject and I hope some others of you feel this same.  I mean, come on, Judy Blume books setting banned?  Crazy!

Good article here:

Judy Blume: book banning now much worse in US than in 1980s

Children’s and young adult author of 1970 book Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret says growing intolerance must be challenged

The author Judy Blume says a rise in intolerance in America has led to a “much worse” epidemic of book banning than she experienced in the 1980s.