Low Watt Tube Amps These Days?

DriftingByTheStormDriftingByTheStorm Posts: 8,684
edited July 2012 in Musicians and Gearheads
Yeah.

I just started playing on my Lead 1 again recently (thought it had blown tubes, but it was actually a very dirty volume pot causing volume to just cut out randomly) and am actually loving it more now that i can "squeeze tone" out of it.

It's One Tiny Watt of Terror ... really like a half watt that distorts out at max to a watt.
Mine drives a 1x12 decent, and the same for a 2x12. I can't imagine it pushing a 4x12 as claimed to any stunning effect. Even on a 1x12 i would NEVER call it "loud". It does have great tone. Plenty of pinch harmonics to be stolen from this thing, but just not quite loud enough for me ...

WHICH IS WHY I'M ASKING,
*** What Other New Low Watt Tube Amps Are Out There This Century ***
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
I'm not talking about valve-jr's, or Oranges, dang it.

I could (based on the Bumbox) probably go for a really cool 2 watt amp. MAYBE a 5 (though the ValveJr was LOUD. :D lolz)
If I was to smile and I held out my hand
If I opened it now would you not understand?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    Z.Vex Nano, Fender Greta, Mahaffay Little Lanilei, Vox Lil Night Train.

Out of those, I'd probably be most into the Z.Vex, but I did GAS for a Lil Night Train for a while (especially when I was apartment-living).

Gotta love the idea of 12A_7 tube types being used as power tubes.
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • I love my bad cat mini. 5 watts and I replaced the crap 10" Jensen with a weber silver bell. Some gold JJ tubes and it's all good. I love the nice breakup and smooth tone. It doesn't have a ton of clean headroom, but nothing at this power level will.

Peace and chicken grease...
    heath