Help for a possible aspiring Bass player

kbuchholtzkbuchholtz Posts: 60
edited July 2012 in Musicians and Gearheads
So I've been playing guitar for a few years. Have the chords down, some scales, etc. Taken lessons for a few years and my teacher suggested I listen to variety of music to expand my musical horizons. In doing so I have really come to like listening to the bass lines of the music I've been hearing.

So, my question is this: is it difficult to make a switch to learning bass if I have some guitar basics down? I'm not an aspiring musician, and I'm not looking to write my own music. I have a friend that I like to jam with now on guitar, but think adding a bass to our playing would open things up a bit for us both.

I was thinking of looking for a cheap acoustic bass and trying to learn some basics and see where it goes. Anyone have any tips or suggestions on how to get started? I started guitar by looking online and finding Next Level Guitar. Gave me a great start to taking lessons. Taught me a lot of general stuff.

Any advice from the experts out there?

Thanks a lot for your time.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• dogfootbluesdogfootblues Posts: 116
    Ive been playing guitar for 17 years but i play other instruments like bass. Great attitude. Get yourself a nice cheap but decent little setup and jam out. Its great to know all the scales and what not. Getting tabs and playin along to your records really helps you along. but remember there are no rules.
    The Squier Mustang bass looks really cool. You could get a used Fender Stanard anywhere for $300 and under.
  • mfc2006mfc2006 Posts: 37,414
    i'm a lot like dogfoot...been playing guitar for 15 or so years....i'd tinkered with the bass before, but just really got into playing bass about a year or so ago. it's a blast. your chord knowledge will definitely help you, but it's a different animal. i grabbed a Squier Jazz Bass & it plays & sounds great. i say go for it!
    I LOVE MUSIC.