Any tips for an average guitarist and singer

bindy123bindy123 Posts: 210
edited August 2012 in Musicians and Gearheads
Am not sure how to measure this really but by my estimations I am a slightly below average guitarist and a slightly above average singer.

Am not looking to ever do anything other than friends bbqs and parties, the odd wedding for friends etc...BUT...

Please talented singers and guitarists excuse the fact I dont know any technical terms but hope I can explain this adequately, also know I have sososososo much respect an admiration for people who have developed their skills and become good musicians...you really are amazing

Anyway when I play certain songs that have a repetitive strumming pattern...that may be really easy to play without singing...when I start to sing along I find it so hard to keep the strumming pattern...Are their helpful tips to sorting this problem...or do I just keep trying over and over til I get it

EXAMPLE...am currrently trying to learn BIG HARD SUN...like I said, easy to play without singing...easy to sing without playing...put them together and I just cant maintain the strum pattern...any advice???
"God created surfing and Pearl Jam so that the truely gifted, talented and most intelligent people wouldnt rule the world"...adapted from my bumper sticker
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• hostishostis Posts: 441
    it just comes down to practice practice practice. And practice some more. And then practice. But also, practice.

I would also say don't focus on getting one song perfect and moving onto the next but above all, practice.
  • mfc2006mfc2006 Posts: 37,414
    hostis wrote:
    it just comes down to practice practice practice. And practice some more. And then practice. But also, practice.

I would also say don't focus on getting one song perfect and moving onto the next but above all, practice.