Looking to Start a Band...

GwyzardGwyzard Posts: 2
edited April 2012 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am a fresh n00b to this forum, despite being a PJ fan for over half my life now... so I apologize if posts like this aren't allowed; I haven't seen anything similar.

Anyway, I am a live audio engineer/lighting designer in the Seattle area, and I *REALLY* miss actually playing music myself, as opposed to helping other bands sound & look great.

I'm not the greatest guitarist, but I am practicing every day and scraping the rust off those skillz... When I've been in bands previously, It's always been as the lead singer/lyricist and/or bass player. My vocal skills are coming back far more quickly, and for the first time in awhile, I'm feeling really confident about my singing.

Point Being: I would love to start a band with some like-minded music nerdz. I'd like it to be something original, but I'm ok with jamming out on some covers for now and seeing how things progress. My goal is to write originals together & get good enough as a band to be playing shows locally by summer's end, and to have a GREAT time with it, no matter what happens. "I'll ride the wave... where it takes me..." ;)

Other Influences: Soundgarden, Ian Thornley/Big Wreck, HUM, Shawn Smith, Eleven, Mother Love Bone, Polaris, Giant Drag, Mudhoney, Fleetwood Mac, Smashing Pumpkins, Better Than Ezra, Ours, QOTSA, Screaming Trees, etc. Please note that I'm not listing my favourite bandz; I'm listing those who I actually believe influence my sound when I play, sing, etc., or bands whose general sound or vibe describe what I'd want my hypothetical band to be like.