Insensitive Boss...Urgh

Cradles Broken GlassCradles Broken Glass Posts: 1,409
edited January 2012 in All Encompassing Trip
I need to rant a little about work, so please excuse me. I am a grad assistant, I love my job, and I am damn good at it. I have a lot of responsibility for a GA. I work the entire time I am there, unlike many other GA positions where they get to focus on school work while they are "on the clock." I loved my boss last semester, she was understanding and kind. However, she had to switch jobs due unavoidable personal circumstances. My old boss always bragged on me and told me how great I was doing. Now, it is a new semester and a new boss. I do think that my new boss is nice, but she is completely insensitive. Last week my husband had a very serious work injury. I got the call while I was at, but since he down played the injury to me and he had a coworker with him at the ER, I finished my work day. The past week has been awful. I have had to take my husband from Dr.'s appointment to Dr.'s appointment squeezing work, my classes, and caring for our son in between the chaos. I have showed up for work each day this week, only being an hour late one day (because I had to drive my husband to the doctor), but I stayed an hour late to make up the time. I guess that I caught the cold from hell in the ER or one of the Dr.'s office. My boss knows the personal chaos that is going on and the fact that I am very sick. So, what does she do? Call me and essentially tell me that I am working on Friday. Mind you, I have completed all my hours for this week and will not be paid any extra for the extra hours I have worked . Anyway, the reason I am working is complete bullshit and I am about to go postal (not really, but I am about to stand up for myself). I have a very heavy course load this semester and I have to take Praxis II and the PLT. I also need to apply for teaching positions in the fall. Anyway, if anyone has any diplomatic suggestions on how to deal with p