Learning bass

GivenToLukinKPGivenToLukinKP Posts: 3,076
edited December 2011 in Musicians and Gearheads
So,
after at least 15 years of wishing I had done it, Ive finally decided to try to learn to play bass. I am completely 100% musically illiterate. I have always loved the sound of a bass and have been really yearning to find a creative outlet again besides writing and painting.
I think that is enough of a drive to get me through figuring out if this is really for me.

I finally gave up the "Im too old and stupid to play" attitude...of course, now I'm a couple of days in and, um, feeling really stupid! :lol:

Im working on proper form and fluid movement, creating (and keeping!) a steady rythm. Really having a hard time with my fretting hand (I cant seem to curve it enough comfortably to avoid the 'g' string.

Any tips, advice, websites, books, etc that you can recommend to an absolute beginner would be very much appreciated :D

thanks friends!
Makes much more sense...

2011: East Troy, WI 1 & 2; Toronto ON 1 & 2; Hamilton ON
2012: Berlin, Germany 1& 2; Stockholm Sweden; Oslo Norway; Copenhagen Denmark
2013: Wrigley Field- Chicago, IL; Philadelphia, PA 1 & 2; Hartford, CT; Vancouver BC; Seattle, WA.
2014: Cincinnati, OH; St. Louis, MO; Moline, IL; Milwaukee, WI
2016: Wrigley Field- Chicago 1&2
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• So,
    after at least 15 years of wishing I had done it, Ive finally decided to try to learn to play bass. I am completely 100% musically illiterate. I have always loved the sound of a bass and have been really yearning to find a creative outlet again besides writing and painting.
    I think that is enough of a drive to get me through figuring out if this is really for me.

I finally gave up the "Im too old and stupid to play" attitude...of course, now I'm a couple of days in and, um, feeling really stupid! :lol: