Advice.....How would you have reacted?

SawyerSawyer Posts: 2,411
edited October 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
Long story short my mother was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer on 9/9---not what you want to hear. Professionally I am an 8th grade English teacher who is tenured and heavily involved in the district. On 10/4 my mother had the 'Whipple Procedure'. It is the second most difficult and dangerous surgery behind an organ transplant. I missed four days of work (not consecutively) to be with my family and move my mother in to a rehab facility to make sure she was comfortable.

Last week I was called in to my boss' office and a human resources lady was there. Keep in mind my sick days allow me to use them for family situations. They questioned me about my days off and said there seemed to be a 'pattern of absenteeism'. When did four days become a pattern? I also have a board member's kid in my class which is the entire origin of this story to begin with. The people questioning me know about my mother's illness. I was so hurt and disgusted by this treatment, especially in a business where our product is people. I am a right winger but happy to have a union in my corner right now. It was borderline offensive at best. How would you have reacted? Am I making a bigger deal out of this that it is?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mickeyratmickeyrat Posts: 37,943
    certainly offensive. If it continues , then its a "pattern of harrassment" on their part. Shameful that HR wasnt more sympathetic.
    _____________________________________SIGNATURE________________________________________________

Not today Sir, Probably not tomorrow.............................................. bayfront arena st. pete '94
    you're finally here and I'm a mess................................................... nationwide arena columbus '10
    memories like fingerprints are slowly raising.................................... first niagara center buffalo '13