Today was probably the most incredible day of my life....

Drop The Leash 10Drop The Leash 10 Posts: 7,011
edited September 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
So there are two guarantees in life, you are born.. and you will die. (please note: i work as an EMT.)

So I showed up for my normal 6a-2p shift thinking nothing of it. My day started off with a quick hour nap, I woke up around 725 and went with my partner to grab a bagel at a dunks. As I was standing in line we get called to the nursing home around the corner for the 'person having difficulty breathing'.. We show up and find a tiny 86 year old me clearly going through congestive heart failure. We, with the help of the fire dept. get him loaded in the ambulance. The nurse in charge caught us before we left and handed us a DNR(do not resusitate order). We put the gentleman on oxygen and suctioned. He gathered the strength to remove the mask and very hoarsly said "thank you". No sooner than 3 minutes later he passed on. It was really emotional as the family was waiting at the hospital. We gave our condolences to the family and left.

Around 146 we got called for the woman in labor, the paramedics and us showed up on scene to find this 24 year old woman in serious pains, the paramedics dealt with this call for the most part but i assisted in the back. All of the sudden I hear one of the medics say "here it comes" and out popped a beautiful baby girl Sarah-Jane. It was incredible that in the matter of 6 hours I witnessed the tragedy of death and the miracle of birth.

Well, that's it. Figured i'd share. :)
I will be what i could be
Once I get out of this town

9/29/04;6/27/08;6/30/08;8/23/09;08/24/09;5/17/10
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• EnkiduEnkidu So Cal Posts: 2,995
    Wow. That was incredible. I have tears in my eyes. I'm glad you posted this.
  • and now u have a chance to see the sux continue to choke on a playoff spot :lol: