having trouble with electronic tuner

giventofly86giventofly86 Posts: 19
edited July 2011 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm a guitar newb, and I've been having difficulty tuning my accoustic guitar for a while now. I have an electronic tuner, but it doesn't seem to be working properly. For example, when I pluck the 6th E string, the thinnest one, it reads it as 5A. The tuner is a seiko sat100 guitar and bass tuner. I'm wondering if the settings on it are messed up, and how they should be. Does anyone have any experience with this?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    First off, the thinnest (highest-pitch) string is the 1st string on a guitar, and the thickest (lowest-pitch) string is the 6th. If you can read guitar tab, think of it as the top string to the bottom on a tab staff.

One thing that often throws electronic tuners out of whack is when other strings on the guitar vibrate (even just a little bit) as you tune one string. In this case, your 5th string, the A string, could be vibrating a little as you try to tune the 1st E string. Since the 1st string is so thin, it's vibrations don't create as much electrical energy as the much thicker 5th string, so the tuner will get confused. You need to make sure that each of the other strings is muted as you tune.

Another possibility is that your 1st string is so out of tune, it's confusing the tuner as to what string you're trying to tune. If your tuner has a manual mode, where you can tell the tuner what specific string you're trying to tune, you can usually fix this sort of problem. For example, if your 1st string got detuned to an A (3 and a half steps, pretty low), then the tuner might think it's tuning the A string.

One more possibility is that your guitar is producing an undertone or overtone as you tune the string, and that's confusing the tuner. About the only way to prevent this is to pluck the string cleanly and with no harmonics.