Paralegals.......

EmBleveEmBleve Posts: 3,019
edited July 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
I'm thinking of trying to go for this..is anyone here a paralegal, or know anyone who is? Do they enjoy it? I'm just trying to get some practical input before I invest the time. Thanks. :)
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• PureandEasyPureandEasy Posts: 5,799
    Did some work for attorneys when I worked with the Federal Government. They are a strange breed. The work can be very interesting depending on the type of practice.

As a paralegal, I would assume you would be doing a lot of research and stuff, so it depends on if this is your idea of interesting. :D
  • EmBleveEmBleve Posts: 3,019
    Did some work for attorneys when I worked with the Federal Government. They are a strange breed. The work can be very interesting depending on the type of practice.

As a paralegal, I would assume you would be doing a lot of research and stuff, so it depends on if this is your idea of interesting. :D
    Thanks. Yes, I've learned that they write alot of briefs and do alot of the 'investigative' work for the attorney; just trying to find out what it might be like on a daily basis in practice. And, exactly...like you say, it would largely depend on the type of law. Is there alot of field work? I read somewhere that they do not actually interact much with the clients, but then I saw an interview the other day on TV with somebody who had his 'paralegal' with him guiding him on his answers to questions.
  • My wife is a paralegal. She has described her job as the nurse of the law industry.
    My wife is a paralegal. She has described her job as the nurse of the law industry.
    Is that good or bad? :lol: Does she enjoy it?
    Also, the program I've been looking at requests a head shot. :?
  • iluvcatsiluvcats Posts: 5,153
    do you like doing most of the work, writing the letter, but the attorney signs their name?
    I know what it is like :)