needed advice

fifefife Posts: 3,327
edited July 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
i have been very tired for a while at work and i feel i am burning out. I am a social worker in Toronto. I work with people who are homeless and are HIV +. My job is to help them find housing and then support them in their housing. In the last 4 months, someone tried to come into my office with a gun, threaten to hurt my family, among other things. i have been doing this job for 7 years and in the last 1 year i have noticed a change in my clients. Many of my client have been living with HIV for about 20 years now and some more than that. many of these clients have now very bad mental health issues but fail to see it.

they have become very demanding and irrational. i understand why this is the case but lately i just can't handle it anymore. I dread coming to work everyday while before i was always the guy who would work early and work late. i was would be able to work 15 hour day with no problem. but now i can barely do 8 hours and i am mentally dead.

has anyone felt this way before and if so how did you overcome this?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Thoughts_ArriveThoughts_Arrive Posts: 15,165
    Annual leave, month long.
    Adelaide 17/11/2009, Melbourne 20/11/2009, Sydney 22/11/2009, Melbourne (Big Day Out Festival) 24/01/2014
  • PureandEasyPureandEasy Posts: 5,799
    It sounds as though you are on the verge of depression. Do you feel that way about other things in your life or just your job?
  • 8181 Posts: 58,276
    maybe you and Rye could swap clients for a month?

i get the dead thing....not sure how to over come it, except to win the lotto and retire.
    81 is now off the air

Off_Air.jpg
  • pjhawkspjhawks Posts: 12,435