Stage Lights...HELP!

Uncle NeilUncle Neil Posts: 176
edited June 2011 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hello all,
I was hoping some of you could give me some help with stage lighting. I have been gigging casually for a few years now and I'm ready for some actual stage lights (rather than being in a dark corner of a bar). I play in a two man guitar band, so we don't take up much space, and therefore don't need any elaborate lighting setups. I am looking for the simplest possible setup, just to cast some colored light on us. I could care less about flashing lights, or foot switches, or lights that flash with the beat of the music. I just want lights that turn on and stay on and look good, and take up minimal space...and most importantly are INEXPENSIVE! I can't believe how much some of this stuff costs...

This is an example of what I'm looking for. Any other suggestions? Thanks everyone.

http://www.amazon.com/MBT-Lighting-Mobi ... B001L8IJSA
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• HeisenbergHeisenberg Posts: 4,957
    These are more expensive, but would be worth it since they are LED lights and will give off next to no heat.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/7 ... Color.html
  • RedMosquito22RedMosquito22 Posts: 8,158
    Member 164xxx

8/15/92, 9/28/96, 8/28/98, 8/29/98, 9/18/98, 8/3/00, 8/9/00, 8/10/00, 8/23/00, 8/25/00, 9/1/00, 9/2/00, 4/28/03, 6/18/03, 7/5/03, 7/6/03, 10/1/04, 10/3/05, 6/19/08, 10/27/09, 10/31/09, 5/21/10, 9/3/11, 9/4/11, 10/21/13

More to Come....
  • Uncle NeilUncle Neil Posts: 176
    Heisenberg, I appreciate the suggestion, but $600 is just a touch out of my price range for lights (like, in another stratosphere). I may try making my own.
  • mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    I'd definitely agree that LEDs would be my first choice. One, they put out no heat (as Heisenberg suggested above); two, they are energy-efficient, so no popping power breakers; and three, they have their colors built-in, so no need for color gel.