New Blog Post - I'll Never Race Again

PJGirl321PJGirl321 Posts: 377
edited June 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
If you've ever tried bike racing or want to - read this:
:geek:

http://bluerubyrider.blogspot.com/2011/ ... inues.html

Also check out the link to NJ Gran Fondo in the blog post. If you love a challenge it's worth the trip to NJ. 3 courses 40, 60 and 100. Great price for a Gran Fondo and I know the roads - beautiful and challenging.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• polaris_xpolaris_x Posts: 13,559
    how's your nutrition? ... my buddy races cat 3 in and around NY and he didn't start winning in cat 4 until i offered some tips on his nutrition ... (not that i'm an expert) ... simply, it's something many athletes over look ...
  • PJGirl321PJGirl321 Posts: 377
    Thanks, my nutrition is OK, I eat very carefully day before and day of a race or ride. But I'd love to hear some of his advice on nutrition if you want to send him to my blog so he can either comment or shoot me an email. Who does he race with?

My weakness right now is the sustained intensity required. I'm good with accelerating and sprint efforts but now I have to work on hold that steady pace by building more of an aerobic capacity. Takes time.
    well ... i'm his nutritionist ... so, he wouldn't be able to offer much help .. :lol:

it sounds like it's a fitness issue so, it's a matter of training ... will assume you know about carbo-loading leading to a race and have your race day nutrition set depending on the length of your races ...
    Great job helping him work towards the upgrade :thumbup:

....yes, I am all over the carbs pre race. I'm even staying on top of recovery nutrition. Hey, are you a sports nutritionist? Do you have a web site? I can put a link on my blog if you'd like.

I did recently have to change my drink. I had been using accelerade and found I was getting nauseous during harder efforts. Now trying Gu Brew which seems to be better.