Is it wrong of me to recommend firing this girl?

pjfan31pjfan31 Posts: 7,331
edited May 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
I am studying to be a teacher, love working with kids, and I run a before and after school care centre for you guessed it... school aged kids. A month and a half ago we hired someone as my 2.I.C on a 3 month trial. Now the people who I answer to are a committee with numerous stakeholders in it who all along have said to me 'if you don't like her, don't get on with her.... blah blah we won't renew her' So basically they are working around what I want which is good to have, but puts me in an awkward position...

So this girl is 18 going on 65 (know it all).... but then has completely normal 18 year old behaviour (which we all know what that is like :roll: ). She is incredibly hard to talk to. I will always say 'hows your weekend, day', blah blah, and she will always answer, but never ask me, so conversation is extremely difficult.

She is due for more surgery soon that occurred from a car accident. So if she has significant time off, I don't have the staff to replace her. Can I use this as a negative in my reasoning? I don't want to use her physical ability against her, but it prevents her from doing parts of her job. The injury was was not sustained at work, and it may mean she has to have a lengthy period of time off.

She acts like she has been out of school for ever (only last year), had several jobs (starting to see why)The list can go on and on.... She is a good/ok worker, but that is it. She does not differentiate herself ahead of others, and she gets paid more, gets holiday benefits (12 wks a year) and an in-charge rate if I am not there.

Another reason is I genuinely love my work... The kids, the community, the holidays... but I want the best for it, and I don't think she can be the best for this place. I have been there 5 years and I just want the place to continue to flourish....