Any gardeners here?

Cradles Broken GlassCradles Broken Glass Posts: 1,409
edited June 2011 in All Encompassing Trip
I'm a complete novice, but I'm starting to think this is something I really enjoy. Does anyone else enjoy gardening? Do you have any helpful tips?
Hearts and thoughts they fade....
fade away...

I am at peace with my lust.....for Eddie.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• guitar59guitar59 Posts: 1,221
    I enjoy gardening. I love the planting and digging in spring...but hate dead heading the annuals all summer long! Our growing season is fairly short, so I plant perenials and flowering shrubs that are fairly drought resistant. That way the upkeep is minimal. It also saves money, as I do not need to buy as many annuals every year. I just need a few for the pots on the deck, but the beds take care of themselves every year.
  • PontikasPontikas Posts: 210
    I am a gardener. At the moment I'm growing tomatoes, cucumbers, strawberries, chillies and chrysanthemums.

I prefer to plant fruit and vegetables - at least I get something out of it.

Also, its more fun to grow from seed. I prefer to germinate seeds in paper towels, then plant the seedlings - That way I know how many plants I'll have.

some tips:

- be patient
    - don't under/over water
    - don't use too much fertiliser
    - read a lot of stuff online and watch videos
  • Hey! Master Gardener here since 2007....
    Took the course over 4 month's
    The best $250. i have ever spent
    Call you're local Cornell Cooperative Extension [CCE]
    The First and Best tip is..................... Have the soil tested before doing ANYTHING ELSE!!
    Questions? Please feel free to PM me.
    uncle matty
  • Who PrincessWho Princess Posts: 7,305
    Hey! Master Gardener here since 2007....
    Took the course over 4 month's
    The best $250. i have ever spent
    Call you're local Cornell Cooperative Extension [CCE]