Options

I was thinking over the weekend about that magical first year for the band...

vedderoffdeadvedderoffdead Posts: 684
edited June 2008 in The Porch
I was sick this whole weekend so I was pretty much stuck on my couch, and I got to thinking about that year from the fall of 1990 to the fall of 1991. It's just absolutely amazing not only the QUANTITY of material the boys produced, but the QUALITY. I am a musician, as well as a singer/songwriter so I know all too well how difficult it is to write ONE great song let alone LOTS of great songs. The level of inspiration and creativity that struck those guys in that rehearsal space almost NEVER happens. All the planets must have been in line or something cosmic.

Think about it, not only did they write 11 absolutely classic songs for their debut, but then there was their killer contributions to the Temple of the Dog project, and the 2 stellar songs for the Singles soundtrack, plus all the b-sides and other songs that were penned that year:

I've got a feeling(I'm not an idiot, I know this was a cover, but they OWNED this song;)
Alone
Footsteps
Yellow Ledbetter
Wash
Leash
Let me sleep
Just a girl
Brother

I mean, it's mind-boggling!!! It usually takes a GREAT band with GREAT musicians
YEARS to write and record the same amount of classic songs as our boys did in a fucking year!!!

Sorry if I'm babbling. I'm running a fever
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    JordyWordyJordyWordy Posts: 2,257
    scary how great it all was isnt it? and so prolific.

even "Goat" included in that statement...everything they touched in that year turned to gold. riffs, solos, moody bass, and string vocals. epic
  • Options
    JordyWordy wrote:
    scary how great it all was isnt it? and so prolific.

even "Goat" included in that statement...everything they touched in that year turned to gold. riffs, solos, moody bass, and string vocals. epic