corporate america

namecidnamecid Posts: 24
edited July 2010 in All Encompassing Trip
I work for a large drug store chain. About a year and a half ago, they took away all overtime. As an assistant manager I was to work 44 hrs/ wk which is now gone. About a year ago, they said they had to eliminate 1 assistant per store. So instead of letting people go, they start putting "pressure" on them so they will quit to avoid paying unemployment. Fast forward to now. They are now telling assistants they have to "fill in" at another store for vacation. When they get to the other store, the DM and LP are there to let them know they no longer have a job!! They are not only doing this to assisants but to anyone who doesn't fit the mold. In some instances, they fire the person and then hire them back at a lower wage. Since they offered the person a job, workforce development looks at it, if they don't take the job, that they are refusing work and they will not receive their unemployment benefits! This is just WRONG!! What the hell is wrong with people? I understand doing cutbacks and such but to ultimately force someone into less money when you know they are barely making it is just wrong! One women I work with just lost $4 on the hour. She can't make it on what they are going to pay her. I'm worried that they are going to do this to me. They created a new job to fill the hole of the lost assistant in the stores. It would be a $8/hr pay cut for me. No way in hell I could make ends meet! Crazy thing is, we have a "Four Way Test" we are to go by at work. The last thing on the list is "Is it fair to all concerned?". I guess its their game and they can change the rules and they way they play the game but that doesn't mean its right!!!
Namecid
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• namecidnamecid Posts: 24