I hate bar chords!

mdigenakismdigenakis Posts: 1,337
edited July 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm an obvious newbie when it comes to guitar. I've been taking a class every weekend since November, but i still have sloppy strumming, choked chords, and I absolutely hate bar chords. They sound like ass whenevr i attempt them. I have a five-year plan with this class. If i can't play (not practice) the guitar within that time span, then i'm done. I'm very frustrated and i just had to vent.
"Don't let the darkness eat you up..."

-Greg Dulli

Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mfc2006mfc2006 Posts: 37,412
    yeah, barre chords can be a bitch when you're starting out. one things that may help is to not bar the chords at all, but rather play them with the index finger on the high E or B instead. get used to that & then start barring them with your index finger.

example:
    F
    not barred: 033210
    barred: 133211

try it out...it may help. then again, it might not. just be patient. you've only been playing for a little over half a year. keep at it, you'll get it.
    I LOVE MUSIC.
    www.cluthelee.com
    www.cluthe.com
  • phungiphungi Posts: 641
    hang in there, it gets easier.... try playing only the top three strings of the chord, and leaving the bottom ones open. for example when playing an E-major barred at the 5th fret:

E|----0
    |
    B|----0----|
    G|----7----|
    D|----7----|
    A|----5----|
    E|
    |

or just:

E|
    |
    B|
    |
    G|----7----|
    D|----7----|
    A|----5----|
    E|
    |

instead of

E|----5
    |
    B|----7----|
    G|----7----|
    D|----7----|
    A|----5----|
    E|
    |
    37 PJ Shows, 3 EV Shows, 1134 Total Songs, 24 Different Openers, 9 Different Closers, 252 Unique Songs (never enough)
  • Take your time and ease into them.