Beginners photography-what camera do I buy?

musicismylife78musicismylife78 Posts: 6,116
edited June 2010 in All Encompassing Trip
i am a beginner, so i dont have a ton to spend on it, but, what would you suggest for a beginners camera? I dont think I want a digital camera really, or a camcorder, just a regular camera.

Any suggestions? What cameras do all you photographers here on this board use?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• gundagunda Posts: 97
    seriously you should start with a disposable one their cheap and can lead to great pics once you learn how to use lighting to your advantage. then move on to a point and shoot where u can adjust aperture and focus this is a great hobby but can get expensive.
    8-23-00 jones beach 10-21-01 cal 7-14_03 pnc 5-18_10 nj msg1 5-20-10
  • 8181 Posts: 58,276
    do they even make film anymore?
    81 is now off the air

Off_Air.jpg
  • gundagunda Posts: 97
    81 wrote:
    yeah but its not that easy to come if u see it and have the cash stockpile it will last bout a year
    8-23-00 jones beach 10-21-01 cal 7-14_03 pnc 5-18_10 nj msg1 5-20-10
  • polaris_xpolaris_x Posts: 13,559
    gunda wrote:
    seriously you should start with a disposable one their cheap and can lead to great pics once you learn how to use lighting to your advantage. then move on to a point and shoot where u can adjust aperture and focus this is a great hobby but can get expensive.

??????

this is weird advice - anyhoo, i would suggest you get a used entry level digital SLR ... you can take a course or read a book on the basics of photography and go from there ... i don't see why anyone would not want a digital camera these days ... film is obsolete ...

i would say canon and nikon have the majority of the market ... and with how many photographers are upgrading to the latest and greatest - i would think you can get a used one pretty cheap ...
  • blackredyellowblackredyellow Posts: 5,889
    polaris_x wrote:
    gunda wrote: