Setting up an independent show. Where to begin?

StoveStove Posts: 320
edited June 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
So Im trying to organize a show of sorts. Im a drummer in one of the bands (so we get top billing in theory)
We are renting out a place and having a couple bands play.
But I was wondering where to start. Of course there needs to be bands and advertising but what else goes into setting up a show? Are there people that specialize in this kind of stuff? Anyone's advice/experience would be appreciated!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• totaledheadtotaledhead Posts: 197
    Stove wrote:
    So Im trying to organize a show of sorts. Im a drummer in one of the bands (so we get top billing in theory)
    We are renting out a place and having a couple bands play.
    But I was wondering where to start. Of course there needs to be bands and advertising but what else goes into setting up a show? Are there people that specialize in this kind of stuff? Anyone's advice/experience would be appreciated!

I used to run local gigs a couple of years ago, which was both a lot of fun and a lot of stress. As far as advice I would say advertise as much and as early as possible. Use all of the mediums available to you, so use the internet, posters and see if the venue sends out a newsletter or has a website that you can advertise your gig on. Double check whether or not the venue has a backline (drums, amps, pa etc) and whether or not the bands playing want to use their own amps and drum kit. As you know yourself, drummers are keen to use their own stuff, but you might get away with setting up one drum kit and letting the other drummers use their own cymbals, pedal and snare. That'll save time and a lot of effort. Make sure you have a proper sound engineer (the venue should have one, if it's a decent place).