Job Interview Advice/Tips

peacegirlpeacegirl Posts: 835
edited June 2010 in All Encompassing Trip
I have a job interview Thursday and I haven't been on an interview in about 6 years. It will be a casual setting but I'm still a bit nervous.

Specifically, if asked, I'm not quite sure how to answer as to why I'm leaving my current job. The truth is that I HATE it here and that is mostly due to poor management and lack of communication between the employees and the bosses but I don't think I should really say it that way!

I'm sure you good people have some advice/tips. Not just for my specific question but in general as well
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• eyedclaareyedclaar Posts: 6,980
    Be honest. Employers tend to understand that other companies are sometimes shitty places to work. Oh, I am an HR professional... when I'm not wrestling bears.
    Idaho's Premier Outdoor Writer

Please Support My Writing Habit By Purchasing A Book:

https://www.createspace.com/3437020

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000663025696

http://earthtremors.blogspot.com/
  • polaris_xpolaris_x Posts: 13,559
    be honest and confident and show up prepared ... do a little research on the company ... also, don't be shy in letting some of your personality get out ... sometimes its more than your qualifications ... they might hire you just because you mentioned you like to eat crab cakes ...

as for your specific question ... say, you feel like opportunities to grow are limited at that company ...
  • mca47mca47 Posts: 13,282
    I landed a sweet, high paying gig a couple years back. For it, I actually interviewed with eight separate people in two days.

Three things I'd suggest...

1) Take anything you might think is "negative" (Ex: leaving your current job because you hate it) and spin it into a positive note.

2) Be extremely confident in yourself, but not cocky.