so got a new dog

mikepegg44mikepegg44 Posts: 3,353
edited June 2010 in All Encompassing Trip
and I am struggling with how to teach her how to roll over. I have gotten all the other simple commands but struggle with rolling over. Any Pearl Jam dog experts out there?
that’s right! Can’t we all just get together and focus on our real enemies: monogamous gays and stem cells… - Ned Flanders
It is terrifying when you are too stupid to know who is dumb
- Joe Rogan
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• polaris_xpolaris_x Posts: 13,559
    wrap dog in carpet ... let loose on top of a hill ... retrieve dog at bottom ...

give dog biscuit and say "good dog"!!

uhhh, seriosly tho ... i had a shih-tzu and that dog could learn tricks in a day ... assuming you have lie down figured out ... try a sideways lie down ... then take a treat while she's on her side and tease her with it kinda making her roll over ... and just keep repeating hand signals and words ... as you can see i'm no expert but i think that's what i did way back when ...
  • mikepegg44mikepegg44 Posts: 3,353
    polaris_x wrote:
    wrap dog in carpet ... let loose on top of a hill ... retrieve dog at bottom ...

give dog biscuit and say "good dog"!!

uhhh, seriosly tho ... i had a shih-tzu and that dog could learn tricks in a day ... assuming you have lie down figured out ... try a sideways lie down ... then take a treat while she's on her side and tease her with it kinda making her roll over ... and just keep repeating hand signals and words ... as you can see i'm no expert but i think that's what i did way back when ...

thanks, she is pretty smart about every thing else, have even taught her to go to her kennel from anywhere in the house by saying "go to your room". it is pretty awesome. I have never had a dog before and am loving it.
    But I feel like I am screwing something up with roll over, i think i was doing too much. I am gonna try it your way and see what happens. thanks again