How to replace strings on a strat?

Thoughts_ArriveThoughts_Arrive Posts: 15,165
edited June 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ok I've never done it before, always ask a friend to do it for me.
I always break the small E string.
Kind of sucks with 5 strings.
Any site that shows you step by step pics?
Thanks.
Adelaide 17/11/2009, Melbourne 20/11/2009, Sydney 22/11/2009, Melbourne (Big Day Out Festival) 24/01/2014
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Does your Strat have a locking tremolo or is it the standard string-through-the-body design?
    Bristow, VA (5/13/10)
  • PontikasPontikas Posts: 210
    Youtube has everything
  • Guitarhero27Guitarhero27 Posts: 2,146
    if you're constantly breaking the string, switch to a lighter guage guitar pick.
    9/29/96, 8/29/98, 9/8,11/98, 7/28/99, 8/23,24,25/00, 10/13/00, 4/15/03, 4/30/03, 7/8,9,12,14/03, 10/1/04, 9/30/05, 10/1/05, 5/4,5,13,27,28/06, 6/1,3/06, 6/19,20,22,24,25,27/08, 7/1/08, 8/4,5,7,16/08, 8/21/09, 10/27,28,30,31/09, 5/15,17,18,20,21/10, 9/2/12, 10/18,19,21,22,25/13
  • DewieCoxDewieCox Posts: 11,425
    if you're constantly breaking the string, switch to a lighter guage guitar pick.

No...different picks sound/feel different. Get to the root of the problem....
  • gimmesometruth27gimmesometruth27 Posts: 23,171
    i have a couple of strats with the standard floating bridges. correct or not this is how i change the strings....

since there is a tremolo on there the bridge floats. i try to keep as much tension on the bridge to keep it in the regular position so the springs don't pull it back.... i have screwed my strats up enough times that i do not remove all 6 strings at once...i change the strings one at a time starting with the d or g string because that keeps the same tension on the top and bottom edges of the tremolo. i usually go d-g-a-b-low e-high e.....if i break a string i put a replacement on there very quickly and when i get home from the show i change all 6 of them.