CO-SIGNING question, anyone know anything about loans?

haffajappahaffajappa Posts: 5,955
edited July 2013 in All Encompassing Trip
My boyfriend's mom just backed out on being the co-signer for the car loan and now he can't get the car he wants. Right now he has a good job but has no credit and too much pride to ask my parents to co-sign. I have great credit but not a great paying job as I'm a student. (opposite problems!)

Can I co-sign a loan for him if I have really good credit but not that great of a job?
My mom was also thinking that if i had the money in the bank I could still co-sign for him... Anyone good at this stuff? I've never bought a car before, i'm more of a transit person :D, so I've no idea.
live pearl jam is best pearl jam
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mookeywrenchmookeywrench Posts: 5,868
    Unless your a parent....for your own good, don't cosign
    350x700px-LL-d2f49cb4_vinyl-needle-scu-e1356666258495.jpeg
  • haffajappahaffajappa Posts: 5,955
    Unless your a parent....for your own good, don't cosign
    lol yes i've heard this before...
    but i'd still like to know what the options are...
  • KM157675KM157675 Posts: 14
    I just bought a new car two weeks ago. I have a great credit score, but similar situation. I have no credit. That being the case they couldn't give me 1.9% financing instead they could only do 3.9%. However if I had a co-signer I could get the 1.9%, why that makes sense I have no idea. I felt it more important to get the car in just my name and develop the credit independently. If he can't get the car without a co-signer, and he has good credit, then the car is probably out of his price range. Ya I wanted the 335 BMW but the Honda Accord was the responsible decision and the one I could get without the co-signer.

Good Luck.