Delay Pedal Question/Help

pedalbreakpedalbreak Posts: 138
edited April 2010 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've never owned a delay pedal because they're so damn expensive and I'm a poor University student. With my tax return I'm planning on splurging on something reliable and with a lot of buttons. I'm looking at a Boss dd-20 and a Line 6 DL4 at the moment. From what i hear the Boss is more user friendly and has longer delay, loop times and is a tad cheaper, but the DL4 doesn't suck as much tone (something I think I can overlook(?))
If anyone has any experice with both these bad boys or has other delay pedal reccomendations I'll be glad to hear your input.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• xtremehardy388xtremehardy388 Posts: 2,759
    DD20 is pretty cool. The DL4 is what Mike uses but I've heard they're not too reliable. If you're looking for a lot of options, those are good. The DD6 or DD7 are also pretty good BUT the analog function on the DD7 isn't the best. The XD Delay from Digitech is one of my favs but the switch wears out after about 6 years and it's next to impossible to replace. Still, REALLY impressed with this box. Depending on the delay you want, the AD9 from Ibanez is REALLY warm but doesn't really give you a lot of options. The Carbon Copy is a GREAT analog delay but pretty touchy. Finally, the Danelectro PB&J is a good delay if you will NEVER gig with it and only want something for short delays. That being said, the best thing you can do is try out different delays. I know there's another delay by Deltalab which is all right but isn't the most versatile.
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • sacto68sacto68 Posts: 70